Useful Links

Useful Links

GSO Test

Early Years Foundation Stage

* In the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum there are:

o 7 areas of learning

o Different aspects within in each area of learning (e.g. within the area of learning entitled Communication and Language, the aspects within this are Listening and Attention, Understanding and Speaking).

o 17 aspects altogether

o 17 Early Learning Goals (one for each aspect)


* At the end of Reception, we record each child’s level using the following scoring system:

o 1 – Emerging (working towards to the ELG)

o 2 – Expected (achieved the ELG)

o 3 – Exceeding (working above the ELG)


* The expected score at the end of reception is 34 points.  A score of 2 (expected) will be needed in every area/aspect of learning to obtain this.

* A Good Level of Development (GLD) is 24 points in total including  a score of 2 (expected) in Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED), Communication and Language (C&L), Physical Development (PD), Literacy and Mathematics.

* Children make outstanding progress in the time that they are in our EYFS. 

* Year on year, we have made significant gains in the % of children achieving the expected or exceeding level of development in all aspects of learning by the end of the year.

CLICK HERE to see the percentage of children achieving the Good Level of Development each year from 2013 to 2017.


The information provided by Granton Primary School on our website is for general information purposes and provided in good faith. Users should ensure that before downloading any documents from this website that they ensure appropriate security is in place on their systems and to check for viruses before downloading. We cannot take any responsibility for any loss or damage of any kind as a result of the use of or by downloading any materials from this site, including any damage to hardware or loss of data. Use of this website is done at the user’s own risk.All downloads from this website are the works of Granton Primary School and the download of such works should be for the user’s access only. Downloads should not be misused, including copying, sharing or altering the material in any way.